Feminism 101

We let Riya read The Hunger Games trilogy.  I had my doubts, but she loved it and handled it well, and I’d far rather see her challenged by reading material than bored by it, so…

Other than that, I really had no agenda, until Robin mentioned to me that someone had complimented him on allowing her to read it.  “It’s so great to see young girls reading something with such a strong female lead character,” she said.

“Huh,” I said when he told me, “I hadn’t thought of that.”

Fortunately or unfortunately, Riya overheard this conversation and wanted to know what we meant by “strong.”

“Ummm,” I said.  “Well, you know how much I love Buttercup, but when Westley gets attacked by a giant rat, she just stands there, and that happens in a lot of stories – the girl doesn’t do anything to save herself or help anyone else.  She just waits for someone else to do it.  Do you think Katniss would just stand there, or would she whip out her bow and shoot the stupid rat?”

“She’d shoot it!” Riya answered.

“Right.  And even though The Princess Bride is an awesome movie, in the real world I’d rather be friends with somebody like Katniss than someone like Buttercup.”

“And,” Robin added, “I’d rather have my daughter be able to shoot the rat herself.”

Man, I love that guy.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Jellyman, Parenting, Raisin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Feminism 101

  1. Rina McCool says:

    Wow…you guys gave me goose bumps. Your kids will go far with parents like you two.

Leave a Reply

