I Know

My kids already know all the things that I tell them.

“You are supposed to be getting ready for bed!”

“I know.”

“8 times 7 is 56, not 54.”

“I know.”

“No, you cannot play Angry Birds right now.”

“I know, I just thought I’d ask.”

Whatever.  Admitting you don’t know is hard.  I know.

“Ben, can I tell you a secret?” I asked tonight at bedtime.

“OK.”

I whispered in his ear, “I love … Phineas and Ferb.”

“That’s not what you were going to say!  You were going to say, ‘I love you.'”

“Come here.  I have another secret.  I love … chocolate cake.”

“Mom!”

I leaned in one last time.  “I love … you!”

“I knew it!”

When I tucked Karina in, I told her my first two “secrets,” too.  She pulled back after each and looked askance at me as only a 6-year-old can do.

Then I whispered “I love you” in her ear.

“Well, I already know that!  Of course you do!”

“Mom!  Mom!  I wanna hear the secrets,” Riya called from the top bunk.

“OK,” I said, “here they are.  One, I love … chocolate cake.  Two, I love … Phineas and Ferb.  Three-“

“You love me!”

If there is one thing they truly do know, it should be that.

 

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange, Parenting, Raisin. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Know

  1. Becki says:

    There are too many kids who don’t hear that, too many kids who don’t know so well that their parents love them that it’s stating the obvious for the parents to say it. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

