Rain, Rain, Go Away

Whatever this hideous disease is that’s making the rounds in my circles, I’ve had enough of it! DD had a cold, which of course developed into an ear infection and (shudder) pinkeye. I HATE pinkeye; it’s so gross! And, like every ear infection the poor thing has had, we didn’t even know she was sick until the pinkeye showed up. She never pulls at her ears or anything — we always take her to the doctor for some other cause, like a rash or throwing up, and it turns out it’s a complication of the ear infection. Worse, it’s never the same thing twice, so we can never say, “Oh, she’s got another rash — better have her ears checked!” We tried that, and that time the rash was just a virus, and there was nothing they could do. Ah, the joys of parenting.
Anyway, this time I caught the stupid bug too, and spent all day Friday confined to my bed. I literally felt like an adventurer when I dragged my sorry self all the way to the kitchen for some crackers. Now, almost 6 days later, I’m still coughing like a 50-year smoker (never had a cigarette in my entire life), and I have pinkeye too (again, shudder). Plus, it hasn’t stopped raining here in what seems like weeks. If I could only see the sun, I think my outlook would be greatly improved. (Am seriously considering moving to Alaska; that way, I’d have about 12 additional hours of potential sunlight each day.)
Once upon a time I boasted that I hardly ever got sick. I was young and foolish then, and I didn’t have a baby bringing home a day care’s worth of germs. Oh, well.
Maybe part of it is that I didn’t used to mind being sick all that much. If it’s just me, I can hole up for a few days, get over it, and move on. Now, though, I have to hoard my days off in case the baby is sick, so I didn’t want to take more than one for myself. And even when I am at home, DD is way too little to understand that Mama is sick; she still needs just as much attention as always. DH manfully took on more than his usual share, but she’s still a Mama’s girl, so there’s only so much he can do.
Does everybody run into this dilemma? What do you do about it?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

