A Riddle

Metaphors
by Sylvia Plath
I’m a riddle in nine syllables.
An elephant, a ponderous house,
A melon strolling on two tendrils.
O red fruit, ivory, fine timbers!
This loaf’s big with its yeasty rising.
Money’s new-minted in this fat purse.
I’m a means, a stage, a cow in calf.
I’ve eaten a bag of green apples,
Boarded the train there’s no getting off.
**If you figure this out and by some strange fluke know my parents, please don’t tell them. We’re having dinner with them tomorrow and I want to tell them in person. 🙂
About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Riddle

  1. Jane says:

    The English teacher in me thinks that I get this metaphor…

    Am I right?!

  2. Julie says:

    You probably figured it out. Check today’s post to see! 🙂

Leave a Reply

