By The Numbers

20: Approximate number of diapers I change in a 24-hour period (well, the Jellyman does about half of the ones that occur while he’s home….)

51: Number of minutes since my parents left with Raisin, who is spending the night at their house.

3: Number of projects I have started since then.

0: Number that are anywhere near being finished.

6 kajillion: Number of times I have thought, “You know, when you were 20, you wouldn’t have thought that doing laundry, vacuuming*, and caring for two 3-month-old babies was an afternoon off.”  (But it is.)

Infinity: Number of times I’ve uttered the following phrases in the last three months: “Just a minute.”  Hold on.”  “I’ll be right there.”  “I’ll take care of it as soon as I change your sister’s diaper/feed the babies/take out the trash.”

6:30: Latest Raisin will generally stay in her bed, no matter how late she was up the night before.   Tomorrow, I will not be getting up at 6:30.  (When I worked in an office, I had to get up way before that.  Somehow it seems a lot earlier now….)

2: Number of months it took me to figure out that it’s not “Kunta Cave,” but “cool, dark cave.”  She got the phrase from a book, and she is severely disappointed that I took so long to get it.

*Do I get credit for vacuuming even if the Roomba is doing it?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to By The Numbers

  1. Kim says:

    I vote that you absolutely get credit for vacuuming. Hooray for a “day off”! Enjoy!

    oh, and I LOVE that Christmas song; I wish it was played more often during the holidays.

  2. Anything that gets crap off of the carpet counts as vacuuming (even if it’s your dog).

  3. Becky says:

    I’m with you on infinity. As soon as I can get the kids to work the vacuum, I’m never touching it again.

    Happy New Year!

  4. Oh my god, that totally counts as vacuuming. Even if it’s in a cool, dark cave.

  5. K. says:

    Yes you get credit, even if Roomba is really the one doing the work. You started Roomba didn’t you? So there.

Leave a Reply

