Quite Satisfactory*

Two friends from our playgroup have new babies, and it’s made me realize just how far we’ve come.  Eight, five, even three months ago I was the mom who needed help all the time, the one who never slept quite enough, the one whose confidence was always teetering on the brink of non-existent.

As a mother of multiples, I imagine I will always be a little behind the curve.  There will always be one more kid than I have hands, one need that will have to wait because two others are more urgent.

Today, though, I’m celebrating a little.  I may be a long way from the finish line, but look — LOOK! — how far back there the starting line is!  We survived those first weeks when nobody ever seemed to sleep at the same time, the days when Orange would cry uncontrollably with anyone but me, the month Raisin wouldn’t nap but needed to, the frigid winter days when we were cooped up inside and driving each other crazy.

Despite the challenges that I know are still coming (and the ones that will pop up and shock the hell out of me), we’re doing pretty well.  It feels good to be able to offer a meal to a new mom, because there was a time when I believed I would forever be dependent on outside help just to run our household.   I’m not.  It may not seem like much, but it’s a start!

*Also cause for thankfulness: no one I know tumbled into the Mississippi River last night, although a friend had a close call.  Please pray for the families who are still waiting for word, and for those who already know the worst to be true.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange, Raisin. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quite Satisfactory*

  1. And so far it keeps getting better.

  2. Erin says:

    I’m impressed. I couldn’t do it!

Leave a Reply

