One is the Loneliest Number

My husband hasn’t traveled on business in about 2 years.  He doesn’t fish or hunt, and we virtually never travel without each other.  He goes in to work early every day so that he can be home with us for most of the afternoon and evening.  And now he’s gone to India for 2 1/2 weeks for his grandmother’s funeral, and I am all at sea.

I have plenty of help when I need it.  Even if I didn’t, we could live on chicken nuggets and walk on sticky floors if we had to.  We have enough company during the day.  Even if we didn’t, there are lots of places in this city where we could go.

But how to fill up the hours after the kids go to bed, and after all the help and company has gone back to their own homes and families?  There’s no one here to snark at the TV with, nobody to giggle over the silly thing Raisin said today, and most certainly no big broad shoulder to snuggle against before I fall asleep.

This is Night #3.  Wah.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Jellyman. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One is the Loneliest Number

  1. Fill your time by blogging, of course!

  2. donna says:

    It’s tough because I always feel safer when my honey is home with me. I don’t like the nights home alone! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

