I’m the Kind of Mom…

…who sometimes hides in the bathroom

…who forgets and snaps at you, when it’s really not you I’m angry at

…who realizes that she has become a grown-up, in the most unflattering Peter Pan/Antoine de Saint-Exupery sense, and is duly appalled with herself

…who tries to compensate for her disgusting adultness by planning (oops!) fun kid activities

…who thinks there might be hope for herself, since she can lose herself in playing Indoor Sandbox, wheeling Matchbox cars around in a baby tub of rice for an hour

…who second-guesses every decision she makes that impacts you

…who knows you should never know that until you’re older, because you need her to be in charge

…who loves you, so dearly, but often checks the clock and calculates the hours until bedtime (but feels guilty about it!)

…who melts and forgets to check the clock on those magic days when we all can play together in between the boring mom stuff I have to do and the naps and eating and diaper changes and potty breaks you insist upon.

…who is prouder of you than of anything else I’ve ever done in my entire life, bar none.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m the Kind of Mom…

  1. donna says:

    Wow, so you are a “normal” mom-cool!! 🙂 I totally get that, and I don’t even know you. Nice job!

  2. This is such a lovely post.

Leave a Reply

