Observation

Having multiples is something like what it must be like to be left-handed*.  It’s not that you can’t do what you need to do, but nothing is quite designed for you.  And your hand is always smudged (although in the case of twins, it’s less likely to be ink).

Obstacle #1: The Mall.  I thought I was decently well-informed on issues for people with disabilities.  My mother-in-law uses a walker, and occasionally a wheelchair, and she keeps me in the loop on what’s acceptable and what’s not.  Now that I need a stroller to go anywhere on my own, I see that I really knew nothing.  Example: what good to me is a sidewalk cutout that does not lead to an entrance that is accessible?  And I am going to have this problem, probably, for about two years – from the time Apple and Orange outgrew the bucket carseats until they are walking well enough to ditch the stroller.  For someone who lives their life in a wheelchair, this kind of thing must be infuriating.

Obstacle #2: Target.  Or rather, my fellow Target shoppers.  My beloved SuperTarget bought new carts not long after Apple and Orange were born, and they have a decent-sized stock of carts that seat three kids.  I sometimes have to drive around the parking lot for a while until I find one, but one is always available when we need it.  (It is things like this that make it impossible to quit you, Target!)

But, my dear fellow Bullseye lovers, my children do not want to sit in your kid’s leftover lollipop, or in your spilled coffee.  As Target faithful, we really are like family, right?  Respect the carts, people.

Obstacle #3: Kindermusik, etc.  Infant classes, from music to swimming to My Child Is A Genius Who Already Speaks Spanish or whatever, are uniformly designed for parent-child interaction.  Which is as it should be, but what am I supposed to do?

Every class we’ve looked at doesn’t work — the time conflicts with preschool, or it’s too late in the evening for us, or we don’t have childcare for Raisin, or only one of us would be able to go, so only one twin could attend at a time or…..  Blah.  It’s driving me nuts, partly because it was so easy when Raisin was a baby, and I’m feeling guilty about all the things Apple and Orange haven’t gotten to try yet.

*What are the odds that all three of my kids will be left-handed?  The Jellyman is, and I’m not, but all three of them seem to prefer their left hands.  I know it’s too early to tell with Apple and Orange, but it’s weird, right?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Observation

  1. donna says:

    Hurray-someone that has some compassion for US lefties!!! 🙂 HA You do bring up some valid points…..hmmmmmmm?!!

  2. Amy F says:

    I’m jealous. I appear to have two righties and darn it, I want a left-handed kid. I’m left-handed, but no one else in my extended family is. Dan has a couple lefty relatives but is a righty himself

Leave a Reply

