Attention Internet Ethicists

Our house is the last stop for a truckload of baby clothes.  In addition to all the things Orange inherited from Raisin and then outgrew, a friend of mine has a son who’s several months older than Apple.  She sent us all her hand-me-downs, with instructions to pass them on when we were done, because she’d gotten most of them that way in the first place.

But I don’t have anyone to give them to — nobody in my immediate circle is expecting a baby, and my basement is starting to disappear in a maze of boxes.

Here’s the question: would it be wrong to sell what I can at a Mothers of Multiples sale?  I’ll send my friend a portion of whatever I make, and then I’ll donate whatever doesn’t sell.  But I don’t know anymore what was hers, and it seems silly not to take advantage of the opportunity.  Right?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange, Raisin. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attention Internet Ethicists

  1. Erin says:

    Totally kosher – I’d do the same thing, too. Otherwise, what are you going to do with all that stuff?

  2. Jody says:

    Sell away.

    I ruthlessly cull clothing and while it all goes to the local charity thrift shop, not a sale, I would feel no anxiety about selling any hand-me-downs, either. It’s great if you want to pass along a portion of the proceeds to your friend, but I think it’s fine to sell everything and be done with it.

  3. Pingback: More Fun With Ethics! « Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

