Dear Senator Obama,

I have never been to a caucus before (or, since we enjoy verbification around here, I have never caucused before).  To be honest, I don’t particularly want to go tonight.  I got about 4.5 hours of sleep last night.  Apple is going through some kind of teething/virus-getting something that made him feel like he needed to be attached to my legs all morning.  Raisin evidently cannot hear a word I say, because she keeps asking me questions and then saying “what?” after each answer.*  It’s sloppy and snowy outside, and the caucus doesn’t start until 6:30, which means by the time we get the kids home, bathed, and in bed, they’ll be way beyond crabby again.

Still, I will go, and I will vote for you.  I think Hillary Clinton or maybe even John McCain could be a good president.  I think there’s a very real possibility that you are already starting to believe the hype about yourself, which is exceedingly dangerous.  But, there is also a possibility that you could be great, and I have never lived during a great presidency.  I have seen good (Bill Clinton), and I have seen bad (guess who?), and I would like to see great.

I am taking a chance on you.  Please don’t eff it up.

Sincerely,

Julie

 *I cannot decide if this is normal mom-tuning-out behavior or a sign of actual trouble.  She sees the doctor soon.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dear Senator Obama,

  1. Erin says:

    I’m so hearing you on this one. He has something…. Presidential about him. He’s like the Great White Hope. (There’s something really wrong with that analogy, but I’m too tired to pinpoint it.)

    The Bear can’t hear for shit lately, either. She keeps asking “WHAT?” like she’s 90 years old. Again, annoying or worrisome? I can’t decide, either.

  2. riverbird says:

    thanks for making the effort, you do it for me and others all around – an obama supporter in oregon.

  3. donna says:

    Okay-so I feel like a total dork-REALLY-all of this time I’m wondering-“where is she?” Well, I decided to read your last post on your previous blog AGAIN, and realized that you’ve been blogging here-just like it said-DUH-I’m a blonde through and through-I have a lot of catching up to do….nice to read ya again!! More later 🙂

  4. Pingback: Dear Barack, « Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

