Yay. February 14 Is Almost Here.

Valentine’s Day is not my holiday.  I didn’t really date in high school or college, so for those years it largely passed unnoticed.

The Valentine’s Day before I started dating the Jellyman, a creepy maintenance man from my building left a black plastic garbage bag outside my apartment.  Inside there was a 3-foot Minnie Mouse doll that was supposed to talk.  She was broken, so instead she just emitted a sort of whiny squeak.  No lie.

The Jellyman and I started going out about a month after that (St. Patrick’s Day, now, that’s a holiday I can get behind), and by the following February we were engaged.  That should’ve been a good Valentine’s Day, but I was sick.  I spent the evening in the fetal position on the Jellyman’s couch.

Our first Valentine’s Day as a married couple was good, but unremarkable.  I think we were both starting to sense that it wasn’t our day, and we were very cautious with our plans.

The next three went like this: huge and pregnant in my third trimester with Raisin.  Exhausted and still nursing as Raisin neared her first birthday.  Nauseated in my first trimester with the twins.  Fun, fun, fun.

Last year we had a family dinner.  Hott.

The Jellyman has been out of town this weekend, and Valentine’s Day, to a normal person, would seem like a good time to show him that I missed him and that I was lonely without him.  But I’m scared.

I think Saint Valentine has it in for me, but I don’t know what I ever did to him.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yay. February 14 Is Almost Here.

  1. Erin says:

    I’ve never been one for the V-Day either. In fact, we never celebrate, except to note that we’re not celebrating. Still, if Husband was going to be out of town, leaving me alone with his spawn, I would so hold it agianst him… odd, but true.

Leave a Reply

