Purely Hypothetical

So, I have this … friend … who cut her finger while slicing cheese for her kids’ lunch.  It’s not a bad cut, but it does need to be covered, or it stings (she told me).  Would you have any advice for my friend about how to keep her bandaids dry when she washes her hands?  I mean, how do you keep just one finger out of the water?  Or do you have to change bandaids each time?  Or live with icky wet bandaids?

She has to wash them a lot, you know.  She’s got three kids*, and two of them are still in diapers**.  She changes one diaper, and washes her hands.  Then 10 minutes later the other one needs a diaper change, so she needs to wash again.  Then the kids want to eat, so she’s gotta wash her hands before touching the food.  And that pesky food addiction of theirs tends to lead to more dirty diapers, and you can see the dilemma. 

What to do?

*What a coincidence, huh?

**Really, it’s eerie how much this friend and I have in common.  The big difference, of course, is that I never do anything this clumsy.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Purely Hypothetical

  1. Jill says:

    Ouch. Tell her to get some liquid bandage stuff. Truly a miracle product. Once she has it, she’ll use it all the time. It even makes it stop stinging, and it works on knee scrapes.

  2. Kim says:

    I was going to say the same thing, except with a warning. That stuff can seal in the germs and make a nice little place for infection to fester (if I remember properly, the doctor said my husband tried to use it on a cut that was too deep and he should have left a regular bandaid on for a few days before using the liquid bandage). Otherwise, I love that stuff.

  3. Erin says:

    Um, yeah, your friend totally needs to buy pre-sliced cheese. What’s with the cheese slicing? Too dangerous.

  4. Becky says:

    I vote for liquid bandages too. Oh, and the pre-sliced cheese? Erin’s right.

  5. What part of your finger did your, uh. . . friend cut? When my husband cut his finger he snipped off the tips of a rubber glove, then taped the little finger condom over his bandaid – creating a semi-waterproof seal. Might want to leave the cut open to the air at night, though. Your friend should, that is.

  6. Becki says:

    That Nu-Skin liquid bandage stuff is pretty good for those pesky hard-to-keep-covered cuts on the hands. But you might want to tell your, uh, friend, that the liquid bandage stings, and have a lollipop or martini at the ready to give her if she’s a brave girl when you apply it for her.

  7. Jody says:

    I can’t add anything to this discussion that hasn’t already been offered.

    You can tell your friend that I’ve sliced my finger, deeply, on two separate occasions in the last four years. Once I got a stitch (which I removed myself rather than endure another “Urgent Care” facility — this was right after our move, when our insurance was iffy) and once I just bandaged tightly and left.

    I covered the bandage with a cut-off finger from a latex glove and sealed it with tape for a few days. I took off the seal at night, though.

    For a minor cut, I’d use liquid bandage, though.

Leave a Reply

