Dreamland

I do not usually remember my dreams when I wake up in the morning, so the ones I do remember stick with me.

For example, the week before my cousin’s wedding, I dreamed that he and his fiancee came to our house to hear me play the piano pieces I was going to play at the ceremony.  They hated every song, and everyone was so angry at me that my grandfather stood up and turned all the pictures on the wall backward so that the people in them would not have to look at me.  (Because that’s obviously what anyone would do if their granddaughter picked the wrong songs for their grandson’s wedding.)

Shortly before my own wedding, I dreamed that the Jellyman and the pastor had a lengthy conversation in the middle of the service.  They ignored me until I stamped my white-shoed foot and started ranting to the congregation about insensitive men ruining MY WEDDING DAY.  I woke up still angry with the Jellyman.

My point is that it has never been hard, in the past, to connect a memorable dream to an event that might be stressing me out a teeny bit.  It certainly has never required a degree in psychology before.  That being said, I am totally stumped by these latest entries:

1) I dreamed I was pregnant.*  What’s bothering me about this dream, though, is that in the dream I was not freaking out at all.  I was all, “Ohh, a baaabbyyyy!  I love being pregnant!”  Clearly, not a dream deeply connected to any reality in my world.  (Love babies.  Do not love being pregnant.)

2) I dreamed we ran into our realtor (excuse me, Realtor), whom we haven’t seen since we bought this house 3 1/2 years ago.  He was a horrible orange color, like he’d been self-tanning or something.  We asked how things were going, with the housing market so messed up, and he got this crazed look in his eye.  He started to beg us to buy another house, the way I imagine a drug addict would beg for crack.  This is clearly a very timely  and well-informed dream, but what could it possibly mean!?

*Don’t say it.  Don’t even think it.  Remember this?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dreamland

  1. Who said it had to be his?

Leave a Reply

