Conversations

My attempts to communicate with my offspring have been frustrating of late.  Orange and Apple don’t have very large vocabularies.*  So, I spend a lot of time guessing:

“Orange, you’re signing ‘all-done,’ are you done with your milk, too, or do you want more?”  [She shakes her head “no.”]  “No, you don’t want more?”  [She signs for more.]  “I have no idea what you want.”

[Apple points and grunts.]  “What do you want, Apple?  You want the ball?”  [shakes head]  “You want your book?”  [shakes head, signs more]  “More WHAT!?”

In Raisin’s case, the problem is definitely not that she lacks vocabulary.  Instead, she often leaves me wishing we had never encouraged this whole language thing:

“Raisin, brush your teeth, please.”

“Mommy, I’m too cold.

“OK, put your sweater on.”

“But I’ll get toothpaste all over my beautiful sweater!”

“Riiigghht.  Fine, brush your teeth, then put your sweater on.  You can’t be that cold.”

[5 minutes later]

“Raisin, what are you doing?  Did you brush your teeth?”

“No, I’m too cold!”

*This may have something to do with the fact that Raisin answers all questions addressed to either of them.  Who needs to learn to talk?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Conversations

  1. Erin says:

    I can’t tell you how often I have to tell the Bear to quit answering questions for her sister. I’m all, like, I didn’t ask you, I asked her. Stop taking over everything all the time!

Leave a Reply

