Tongue-Tied and Possibly Star-Struck

When you meet people IRL who have previously been only online acquaintances, what do you talk about?  That’s not a rhetorical question — I really don’t know.

I met Moxie today, and between being distracted by the twins (the playground we met at was above their age level), and just my usual shy dorkitude, I contributed very little to the conversation.

Of course, I would’ve contributed nothing at all if it hadn’t been for Amy, who recognized me when we got there.  Without her, I would’ve had to actually ASK people if they were Moxie.  And, let’s face it, it’s entirely likely that I would’ve just sat in a little corner in agonized bashfulness before I would have done that.

Let’s just call it a success that I did meet her, and managed to stammer out that I enjoyed her blog.  And I did NOT dump on her about every parenting problem I’ve ever had, which was a major temptation.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tongue-Tied and Possibly Star-Struck

  1. Amy F says:

    It was great seeing you again! I did wander aimlessly around the playground when I showed up, sort of looking people in the eye in the hopes that someone would say something. Which they eventually did. And I’ve even met Moxie before, so it was particularly ridiculous! It wasn’t fair that she wore sunglasses, I think.

    While you were twin-chasing (oh my gosh, what adorable, beautiful children you have! They truly have the most amazing hair ever), both the others mentioned their awe in your ability to keep track of 3 under 5 at that park. I didn’t even try for my usual 2:1 kid:adult ratio, so you’re gutsier than me by far.

  2. We talk about other bloggers. Seriously.

  3. Lumpyheads Mom is right. The first time I met her IRL all we did was talk about bloggers.

  4. rudyinparis says:

    Hi grape! (What a cool nickname.)

    Thanks for stopping by my little blog–I guess by boring I meant my commentary, not the online tools! I’m kind of slogging through the requirements, haphazardly.

    It was crazy to meet each other, and meet Moxie, wasn’t it? I wish we had had more time to just all sit and talk, but, of course, with the kids that is next to impossible–sheesh, especially with your mix of ages and twins and such! Yikes!

    I look forward to coming back here often.

    Best,
    rudyinparis

  5. Jody says:

    Oooo, I wish I could have gone to Moxie’s blogger meetup! (I have filed away that playground in my mind — my mom lives only a few miles away from it, and we held our post-wedding picnic there back when getting together with our 20something friends was still possible. Uh, they’re all late-30something friends now. And encumbered with bigger problems than scrounging airfare to a midwestern wedding….)

Leave a Reply

