Unprecedented*

So, last night when the Jellyman and I returned from a party, a police officer knocked on our door to ask if we were the neighbors who had called 911.  We were not, so he moved on after instructing us to keep the outside lights off.  Then several other officers swarmed around our house, using my dad’s truck as a shield as they surveyed the house across the street.**

After a while, things seemed quiet, so my mom and dad, tired after a night of babysitting, turned on our front light so they could go home.  We were quickly rebuffed by a cop who informed us that a SWAT team was on the way, and that we should turn off ALL the lights and GO TO THE BASEMENT.  Holy hell.

So we woke up the kids and huddled in the basement for 45 minutes until they told the Jellyman that they were packing up and that we could come upstairs.  The whole thing ended uneventfully, thank God, but I could wish it were a little more … resolved.

Also, what does one say to the neighbor who started all this the next time one sees him in the street?  “Thanks for endangering my kids lives and making me spend 45 minutes trying to get them to sleep in the basement, asshole,” somehow seems inappropriate, right?  What if I leave off the “asshole” part?

*And hopefully never to be repeated, please God.

**A neighbor who has always been perfectly pleasant to us, but who does have a tendency to sound violent after a night of drinking.  I have contemplated 911 calls in the past because I fear for his wife, but the noise has always abated before I did it.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Unprecedented*

  1. That’s frightening.

  2. Pingback: Wishing I’d Been Wrong… « Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

