Maybe “Problem” is Too Strong a Word

Problem The First: Upon re-reading Siblings Without Rivalry, I was bothered by how many of the parents in their group seemed to blame their own parents for so many things.  The book has great suggestions, but I came away with this sense of, “If you fail to heed these warnings, your kids will hate you and their siblings.  Forever!  Mwa-ha-ha-ha.”

Problem The Second: It is embarrassing to catch yourself humming and wonder, “What is that song?”  And then to realize that it is, in fact, the Backyardigans’ “Nobody’s Bigger Than A Giant.”  This happens to me way too often.  I guess it’s fortunate that the lyrics of Backyardigans songs tend to be clever. 

Problem The Third: My approach to household chores is now basically a disaster-management system.  One day I discover that there is an un-ignorable odor in the back hall closet, so I clean that out.  A few days later, I observe that the weeds in the front flower bed are taller than my son, so I un-weed* it.  I would prefer to get back to a more preventative style, but I have no idea how to do that in our present situation.

Problem The Fourth: I am, like most of my peers I think, not getting enough sleep.  But on my non-work nights, when the sensible thing to do would be to go to bed at a reasonable hour, I can’t sleep.  My brain and body seem to have adjusted to the work-night schedule, and I’m sleepy at 7 a.m. instead of 10 p.m.  Perhaps it will not surprise you to know that my children don’t really care.

*Amelia Bedelia is back in fashion now, right?  Or does she just never go out of style?  Or am I the only one who knows what I’m talking about?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maybe “Problem” is Too Strong a Word

  1. Amy F says:

    I /just/ took Siblings without Rivalry off the shelf. Maybe I’ll read it this time. I discovered that I also have Ames and Ilg’s 4 year old and 5 year old books. I should look at my bookshelves more often.

  2. Jody says:

    Faber & Mazlish have that problem in all their books — the suggestions are great, except when they do not work, and then I’m left with the strong sense that every action my children take ultimately depends on my actions. Don’t get me wrong, I love those books, but everything is not, in fact, all my fault.

Leave a Reply

