Fall Round-Up

So, for the Jellyman’s birthday present, you are all going to vote for Barack Obama, right?  I thought so.  Thanks.  (I kid.  I have never had a comment on this website that was anything but supportive, and I’m not about to screw that up for politics.  If you are voting for the wrong person someone else, let’s still be friends, ok?)

On another topic, what are all your kids going to be for Halloween?  Raisin is going as a firework (black sweatsuit adorned with flourescent paint and glitter glue and accompanied by as many glow-in-the-dark bracelets and necklaces as her frame will support), and Orange and Apple will be salt and pepper shakers (because that is my reward for carrying ten pounds of baby around inside my belly).

And, finally, a debate: are fall colors more brilliant in the rain, when an orange and red maple looks like it’s on fire next to the dripping dullness of everything else, or in the sun, when the light filtering through all the leaves makes them look like they are actually glowing?  Discuss.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Round-Up

  1. Erin says:

    How odd, I had this exact same conversation with myself today. It was cloudy here, and I was staring out the window, thinking how I like the fall colors so much better on a cloudy day, when they really stand out, than on a sunny day, when they have to compete with the bright blue of the sky for attention.

    Also, just broke up with my boyfriend, one of the main reasons being his Republicanism. He actually had the nerve to tell me that he believed in smaller government with less oversight! To my face! The bastard.

  2. Jody says:

    Fall colors are better in the north, no matter what the weather.

    Damnit.

    [My children are going as Hermione, Harry, and Ron — Gemma is cross-dressing this year.]

Leave a Reply

