Random!

A lovely young woman called today and asked me to knock on doors for Barack Obama and Al Franken.  Some thoughts on this:

1) While my kids are adorable, and of course always well-behaved, I’m not sure bringing them along on such an errand would be wise for our family or for the campaigns in question.

2) I may not vote for Al Franken (gasp!  not voting for the Democrat!  shocking!).

3) This thought deleted because it sounded like counting electoral votes before they are hatched, or something, and I guess I am superstitious because I can’t say it.  I will just say this: Mondale.  Fellow Minnesotans and/or political history geeks will know what I mean, I think.

In other news:

-The financial crisis is frightening, I admit.  But I woke up this morning and thought, “What if the world ran out of ibuprofen or caffeine?”  There’s your end-times scenario right there, people.

-It’s my own fault, and I am going to pay for it on Thursday when the insurance people weigh me, but my exercise program has been completely derailed.  There are plenty of excuses, but I mostly just want to put it here in black and white that it’s my fault and that I need to fix it because that seems to motivate me to get back on track.

-In addition to giving up their Nuks and learning to use the potty, Apple and Orange are now sleeping in beds.  There are no babies left in my house.  Wah.  (Have I cried about that here before?   Too bad — it’s a mother’s right to whine about how hard it is to take care of a baby, and then to be sad when they grow up.)  Ridiculously cute footnote: when they realize we are not coming back in after saying goodnight, they climb into each other’s beds and comfort each other.  We keep finding them that way in the morning.

-Also unfairly cute: Raisin, who cannot yet read more than a couple of words, “reads” memorized books to the twins in their new beds.  Truly, the sweetest thing I have ever seen.

Hmmm, maybe I should reconsider the door-knocking.  Dress them up in some Obama shirts?  That’s gotta be worth a couple of votes, right?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random!

  1. Jody says:

    I don’t know if I could have voted for Franken, either, although I sure as heck wouldn’t have voted for Coleman. What were the primary voters THINKING when they chose Franken? Argh.

    As nice as having big kids is, and it’s very nice, I miss my babies, still.

  2. Amy F says:

    Interesting on the not-Franken! Similarly, I couldn’t bring myself to vote for Coleman and went with a third-party guy.

Leave a Reply

