Babbling!

New Year’s Resolutions don’t officially take effect until the mint chocolate candies are gone.  That’s a rule; I’m not sure if you knew already.

We had a really good Christmas.  Crazy, of course, and a little overwhelming, but wonderful anyway.  Amid all the new toys, clothes, and books are 3 new pets: Goldy, Dorothy, and Nemo.  (Dorothy’s name was originally Mr. Fish O’Gish, but I guess Raisin discovered that he was not male?  Or not Irish?  I have no idea.)  They’re guppies, but they’re orange so I guess they’re a good substitute for the goldfish Santa promised Raisin.*

Funeral homes have spectacularly uncomfortable chairs.  (An observation based on recent experience, but fortunately the experience in question was on behalf of an elderly relative whose bad health rendered her death sad but not unexpected or tragic.)

My manager gave me a cupcake, a tiara, and a noisemaker.  That totally makes up for working until 2:30 this morning.

You will all be relieved to know that both the missing Gilmore Girls DVD and the ball from Raisin’s new Cranium game turned up.  These were the source of much consternation on Tuesday night (on my part), but were discovered Wednesday.  Phew.

I’m out.  How were your holidays?

*Dear pet store: don’t sell something labeled a “goldfish tank” and then refuse to sell someone a goldfish to put in it.  Because the crazy lady who is desperate not to disappoint her daughter will go ape-shit, I guarantee it.  Thanks.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Babbling!

  1. Jane says:

    My new year is off to a rockin start. If you ever want your kids to go directly to sleep without all the stupid whining and bullshit they usually do first, take them on a 600 mile roadtrip and keep them up til 11. Works like a charm!

Leave a Reply

