In Which I Dispense with the Elephant Crap Metaphor

Don’t know what I’m talking about?  Check here.  Still don’t know what I’m talking about?  Then I’d say it’s safe to assume that’s because I’m not making any sense.

I would like to use this forum to say a lot of bad words about the economy, but my mom reads this site, so I will try to edit a little.  Also, I am possibly the teensiest bit drunk, which also indicates that prophylactic editing would not be out of order.  (By which I mean, Mom, that I am basking in the glow of your grandchildren’s smiles, and it makes me feel drunk.  Of course.)

OK, so.  The economy.  And the, um, some-time beach goers who got us here.  You used to be my clients.  I spent hours of my life making sure that your mortgage-backed security and credit-default swap trades got posted just so.  I never did understand, back then, exactly how it all worked.  I always assumed I must be missing something.  After all, I came into the world of finance without any background in the area.  Surely, smarter people than I had figured out where all the money really was.  It all made sense to somebody.

Yeah.  Turns out that even though I didn’t understand it completely, and still don’t, I might not’ve been so dumb.  There was no money to back it all up.  You greedy, um, donkey butts were so enthralled with finding out how far the smoke-and-mirrors game would go, that you never considered the consequences.

It’s pointless for me to feel guilty now.  It’s been over 2 years since I worked in that branch of the finance world.  Even when I did, I worked for one of the most ethical companies in the game, and I had nowhere near the authority to change anything about the rules of that game.

And yet…

My friend’s husband got laid off this week.  She, a SAHM, is expecting baby #3.  My sister-in-law, expecting baby #1, just had to take a pay-cut to try to stave off lay-offs.  This (screw it — close your eyes, Mom) clusterfuck is hitting too close to home.

And I know just who to blame.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In Which I Dispense with the Elephant Crap Metaphor

  1. Jody says:

    I’m sorry. It SUCKS.

  2. maren says:

    awesome post. it really is such a hard time.

  3. Donna says:

    I must say, I am thrilled that you are blogging again!!! I am on fb too now….way more than blog land! I haven’t read this post but I wanted to get back to you quick as I saw that you left a comment on mine…..HI!!! Wonder if we can be friends on FB? I stole your line, “is this thing on” I loved that!!! more later!

  4. Becki says:

    I know. This is hideous. I was calling people today to ask them to serve on the PTA board next year, and nearly a third of them said they couldn’t because their husbands lost their jobs and they’re moving out of state, or they had to go back to work because of their husbands’ job losses.

    BTW, happy belated birthday…and I hope the economy is doing much better by the next one.

Leave a Reply

