Cute Stories I Forgot Last Time

I wrote these down in my journal just so I’d remember to include them in my update post, and … yeah.

We’ll start with Apple this time:  Raisin loves to play hide-and-seek, a game that 2 1/2 year olds appear to love but not really get, if you know what I mean.  So I was pretty impressed last week when I heard Apple call, “1, 2, 1, 2, 1, 2, Ready not, me coming!”

 

Orange’s story is at least a month old, and therefore already completely irrelevant.  Oh, well.  Anyway, she went through a period of being very upset when I left for work in the evenings.  The kids are usually still asleep when the Jellyman goes to work in the morning, so she wouldn’t cry about that, but she would still ask every day where Daddy was, and then we’d have to clarify that Mommy was at home, and that I would stay there until after supper.  Then, all on her own, she figured out a way to make herself feel better about the whole thing.  She started going to work.  She’d pack a bag with pretend food and her doll, strap it on her back, and head off down the hall to her room.  Halfway there, she’d run back, give me a quick hug and kiss, and say, “I go work now, Mommy!”  Another 30 seconds would pass, and she’d “come home.”  Almost immediately after she started this game, we had much less drama at goodbye time.  The kid’s an emotional genius.

 

Raisin’s story is also an excellent example of how I am letting my kids pretty much raise themselves, with occasional input from me.  As her birthday approached, she started saying things like, “Mommy, don’t you think I should help sweep, now that I’m almost 5?”  And I, sensing opportunity, naturally suggested that 5-year-olds also fold their own laundry and help their moms weed the garden.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cute Stories I Forgot Last Time

  1. Erin says:

    Dude. The power of suggestion is *huge* at this age. I am milking it for all it’s worth, believe me!

Leave a Reply

