Sounds Like Life To Me

When your essay “What I Did On Summer Vacation” starts with “I watched my grandpa leave the resort in an ambulance*,” it’s a little too easy to continue the list of Things That Went Wrong.  I’m glad I didn’t write this post the day we came back; now that I’ve had some time to think about it I realize the truth:

My hand are green because we had fun tie-dying shirts my kids will love.

Orange and Raisin are covered with itchy bumps because they loved swimming in the lake so much they didn’t care about the swimmer’s itch.

I have a huge bruise on my knee because we sent up bottle rockets from a launcher the Jellyman made with his own two hands, and I chose to have that one hit me rather than Orange.  And the kids had a blast making the rockets and watching them fly.

Despite the rain for 3 days, we managed to keep all the kids busy and entertained, and the grown-ups even managed to have some fun as well.

And most importantly, I was reminded yet again how important a strong family can be.  While my grandma, mom, aunt, and uncle were at the hospital with Grandpa, the rest of us were praying and making lunches and entertaining the kids.  And somehow we made it.

It won’t go down as The Best Vacation EVER!!!!!, but with some love and ingenuity, it came out OK.  I even feel more refreshed than I thought I would, and ready to face the beginning of school.

*For those of you who aren’t already my Facebook friends, my grandpa had a stroke last week.  He’s since been moved to a rehabilitation center near home for a couple of weeks of physical therapy.  He’s 89, and this has weakened him, so we’ll see what happens, but we are all hopeful.  He’s improved a great deal since the first day, and we’re praying that continues.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

