Raisin Moments Of The Day

#1:  At least twice every day (before “quiet” time and before bedtime), all three kids pick a story for me or the Jellyman to read to them.  Raisin was the last to arrive with her story this afternoon.

“Mom,” she said, “I was the last to get here, so I should get my story first, because the last shall be first and the first shall be last.”

I am pretty sure that’s exactly what Jesus had in mind.  Also, I didn’t teach her that, and I don’t think she’s had that lesson in Sunday School either — at least not recently.  Spooky.

#2:  For his birthday, Apple got a truck book (to add to his collection of All Things Truck).  One of the characters is an ice-cream truck who says “Want to buy an ice cream?  Want to buy an ice cream?  Want to buy an ice cream?” — and nothing else.  So, of course, my children have taken this up as their own refrain.

On the way home from getting some family pictures taken in the cold cold cold today, Orange started it up again: “Want to buy an ice cream?  Want to buy an ice cream?”  You get the idea.

I said, “It’s too cold for ice cream today!”

“Yeah, it should be ‘want to buy hot chocolate!'” Raisin chimed in.

“If there were a hot chocolate truck, that’d be awesome,” I said.

“I have a hot chocolate truck, Mommy, and its name is Hot Love!  Because I sell hot stuff, with lots of love!”

The Jellyman nearly drove off the road.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

