HGTV, here I come!

When we bought this house 5 1/2 years ago, Raisin* was about 4 months old**.  I was just figuring out the going-back-to-work thing, and the boring white walls and icky greying carpet were pretty low on my priority list.

There have been some projects: Robin fixed up an otherwise-useless basement room for an office, my brother and SIL helped him paint the kids’ rooms while I was pregnant with the twins, he built a playhouse in the backyard where the tree used to be.  There’s a new refrigerator, washer, dryer, furnace, and air conditioner.  Actually, now that I think about it, Robin has actually done quite a lot — I can think of a bunch more things he’s fixed or replaced.  Where have I been?***

Ahh, yes.  I was discovering that having a toddler and working was really not that much easier than having a baby and working.  And then I discovered that whole multiples thing.  Kinda threw me, that one did.  And then, of course, just as I was getting my groove back, I went back to work.  Which, as you’ve doubtless guessed by now, means that the the boring white walls and greying carpet are still here, with the additions of some magic marker and ground-in Goldfish crumbs.

Not for long, though!  We just picked out our very-first-ever not-previously-owned set of living room furniture!  Robin is pulling out the yucky carpet, and the hardwood floors underneath look like they’re in pretty good shape.  I patched up the walls, and I’m looking at paint samples and getting ideas for art to hang.  I am so excited; s0mehow this project has come to symbolize my stake in my own life — like I’ve finally reached a plateau where I can breathe and make decisions that don’t involve putting out a fire.

It feels really good.  I hope I can stay here for a couple of minutes.

*A couple of people (including my dad, and I have to listen to him) have said they miss the nicknames.  Honestly, I do a little bit too.  So, I’m going to throw them in once in a while.  If it’s confusing, let me know, but since I often call my kids by the wrong names, I really doubt they’re going to mind if the Internet gets them mixed up.

**Doing some fancy trigonometry (Because it’s a tangent, get it?  That’s a little math humor for you.  You’re welcome.), I figured out this means my baby is almost 6.  I cried a little, so don’t be ashamed if you need a minute before going back to the rest of the post.

***Oooh!  I painted the bathroom.  The smallest room in the house.  Go, me.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to HGTV, here I come!

  1. missmunchy says:

    please PLEASE post pictures!!

  2. Santo Osoria says:

    Great post, very informative, thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

