Hush-hush.

There are some things I don’t blog about.

1) In-progress disagreements.  The Jellyman and I usually resolve our differences pretty quickly, primarily because neither of us can stand it if there’s tension in the house.  So, we keep poking at the sore spots until we finally get to the crux of a matter and figure it out.  It works, mostly.

Even if there were time between the beginning and end of a disagreement, however, I don’t think I’d post about it here.  There’s nothing to be gained by writing something while I’m angry: I’d drag my husband’s good name through the dust, and regret it later.

Arguments that have run their course are fair game, I think.  Example: We agreed several weeks ago that we wouldn’t get each other anything “big” for Valentine’s Day.  I said, “I would like flowers.”  He said, “ok.”  I knew trouble was brewing when, on Saturday, we drove past a Flowerama and he said, “Forty dollars for a dozen roses!?  That’s ridiculous!”

Dilemma (here’s where you get to critique my marital style): should the wife in this situation A) remind her husband that he agreed to get her flowers, and risk being naggy should he actually have remembered, B) wait until the next day, but risk making him feel as though he’s walked into a trap, or C) some brilliant option that didn’t occur to this particular wife?  (I chose B, but I tried very hard to be fair and undramatic when I brought it up the next day.  And don’t forget, it’s all worked out now, so no need to take sides.)*

2) Sex.  Our families read this blog, and as much as you don’t want to think about your parents convening the procedure, they probably want even less to think about you doing … it.

Last week, the parenting topic at Ben and Karina’s preschool was sexuality.  Our poor teacher was extremely uncomfortable, but she made the very valid point that the way we think about sex will influence our kids.  If we want them to view it in a positive and healthy way, we need to model positive and healthy behavior.

I don’t have more to say about this (at least not without treading into dangerous territory), except that it’s my goal to be GGG, and I really have no idea whether I’m doing a good job of translating that to how I answer my kids’ questions.  Time will tell, I guess.

And now I’m blushing.

*Some of you may be wondering what I got him.  I can’t blog about it, and I’ll leave you to draw your own conclusions about that.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Jellyman and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hush-hush.

  1. Melissa says:

    hmmmm…the never ending battle between naggy wife and quiet wife who holds a grudge =)

    I guess it all depends on your marriage. I don’t see waiting it out to see if he follows through “setting a trap” for him, but really just giving him the opportunity to follow through.

    I agree with B

    =)

    What do you mean you try to keep it GGG? Is that the rating? or an acronym I don’t know about? =)

Leave a Reply

