I don’t understand …

… how you can be so averse to change that you’ll cry for an hour because we “made” you go to a pancake breakfast at church.

… how you can insist that you never, ever sleep, or how I can ever refute the evidence your own brain is giving you.

… how you can have so many opinions about what your brother should put in his picture, but be completely unable to choose which dress to wear today.

… how you can wrestle me to the ground, but cry when your sisters shut the door of their room as though it’s some kind of impenetrable barrier.

… how you can watch your dad play Super Mario Brothers for what seems like forever, but get bored after 5 minutes in the car.

… how you can insist that I’m a good mom, when I see so many missed opportunities to be better.*

… how I ever got so blessed as to have the three of you.

*This exchange was so sweet.  I checked out a parenting book from the ECFE library, and Riya asked me what it was called.  I told her, and explained that it was about helping moms and dads to be better parents for their kids.  She said, “But you’re already a good mom!”  Then I gave her a bag of M&Ms and $50.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange, Parenting, Raisin and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

