I was so mad I almost SAID something. (I KNOW!)

Ok, fellow Target shoppers.  I know my family is sometimes in your way.  That is why I spend half of my time in the hallowed red aisles saying, “Ben, stay here!  Karina, move to the side!  Riya, keep your hands to yourself!”*  And I know we are sometimes rude, even annoying.  That is why I spend the other half of my time making conciliatory smile/grimaces and murmuring, “Excuse me.  I’m sorry.  Excuse me.  I’m sorry.”

It’s no picnic for me, either, but I need tortillas and hand soap, and I want to teach my kids good manners.  So.  We do what we have to do.  When you look exasperated, I try not to take it to heart.  When you smile, it helps immeasurably.  When you look like you’re having the same kind of day, I hope a smile from me makes a little difference.

When you stand in the middle of the friggin’ aisle, with your cart blocking the other side while you take your sweet time deciding whether this is or is not the same kind of vinegar you bought last time, and I finally say, “Excuse me,” and your teenage daughter politely moves aside and says, “Mom” to let you know that you need to step out of the way, too, looking at me and saying, “Well, I’m TRYING to make a decision” before moving aside with the biggest sigh you can muster is NOT the correct response.

Honestly.  I was so flabbergasted, I couldn’t think of anything to say (in front of the kids).  What would’ve been good?  “Aren’t you ashamed that your TEENAGER has better manners than you do?”  “Kids, I’m sorry I keep telling you to move out of the way.  In comparison to some people, you’re doing wonderfully.”  “You’ll be sorry tomorrow after everybody reads about this on my blog.”

*If you only have one kid, BTW, please feel free to not take the last of the multi-seat carts.  Then I’d be a lot less in your way.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I was so mad I almost SAID something. (I KNOW!)

  1. Becki says:

    That woman must shop a LOT of places. I can’t believe you inconvenienced her like that while she was trying to make a decision, for Pete’s sake.

  2. Katie says:

    You could have apologized to the teenager for her unfortunate circumstances.

    Oh, please explain your need for the double cart to Josh. It is an argument every time that we go shopping without Ben.

  3. Jody says:

    Ah, the oblivious/defensive aisle-crowder at Target. Such a special breed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

