Take 2

I think my blog posts out in my head, but I have so little (quiet, uninterrupted) time to sit down and write them that I usually just type my thoughts, skim through them for glaring errors, and hit publish.  If I aimed higher, I’m afraid I’d never publish anything at all about this time in our lives.  I do wish I could give some of these topics better treatment, though.

Like the jealousy thing.  Wouldn’t it have been great if I’d expanded on the idea of learning from all the talented, smart, caring, giving people in my life?  [Answer: yes, because that is what I’m going to do.]

I think I must be having a growth spurt, spiritually speaking.  I’ve gotten safe and complacent on my little plateau, but it isn’t sufficient.  As individuals, and as a species, we have to keep reevaluating our situation.

I’ve been reading C.S. Lewis’s Mere Christianity, and yesterday I came across this passage: “[Jesus says] … I am going to see this job through.  Whatever suffering it may cost you in your earthly life, whatever inconceivable purification it may cost you after your death, whatever it costs Me, I will never rest, until you are literally perfect…”

It’s not enough to admire you and be content with my own pros and cons, like I said it would be in that last post.  I must also, in fairness to all of you, be willing to accept that you will sometimes make mistakes as well.  And I can’t let my negative qualities (or my talents) define me; who knows what I might become if I keep myself open to new possibilities?

I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before that Change=Bad.  In theory, I like new stuff, but in practice I have to admit that I border on reactionary.  I like a snail’s pace, a gradual growth.  Every once in a while, though, there comes a time when I have to take a little leap forward.  (I’m playing catch-up, maybe, with the people who can decide where to go for dinner without 30 minutes of internal debate.  I hear they exist.)  I think now’s a good time.

Some of this came to me from Lewis, but I also saw a couple of stories that informed my train of thinking on the issue, on a sort of macro scale.  I’ve put the links below; I’d love to hear what you think.  It seemed to me that the message was that the entire human race is also still “becoming.”  That even though we’ve come so far, we still have a lot to consider.  (It’s a coincidence that they’re both about acting; I thought the debate could be extended far beyond that one profession.)

NPR story about actors with disabilities.

Joy Behar segment about gay actors playing straight characters.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Bloggity, Grape and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

