Three things about that last post

1) An asshole almost ran over my baby.  I am mad and scared.

2) It really doesn’t do to dwell on that anger or fear.  I know this.  I know if I don’t let it go, I will keep my kids from doing things they need to do: riding bikes to the park, being dropped off at a friend’s house, exploring at the nature center.  The fear of “what if” will control us all, and we just can’t live that way.

3) The man (or woman, I didn’t even see) who did this is actually probably not an asshole.  Maybe she was making one last phone call, as I’ve done a thousand times, before “putting the phone away, I swear.”  Maybe his kids were fighting in the backseat.  That’s all that stands between us and disaster, many times, even here in such a safe and forgiving place.  So, even though I will not let myself be so afraid as to be controlled by it, this was a good reminder.  Complacency, taking this good life for granted — I am guilty of those things as well.

Oddly enough, my devotional this morning was about fear.  I don’t think God causes scary happenings to get our attention, but I think He uses them.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Raisin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Three things about that last post

  1. Jennifer says:

    I know you and I do not share the same views on some things. But I think you hit the nail on the head. For your own health, and although you’ll never hear “I’m sorry” from the driver who almost hit your daughter, you will have to forgive to live a healthy life. And you are also right about living in fear. It’s no way to live. If we can strive to take every action in love, we will be better for it and so will our children and anyone else around us. I know I’m not telling you anything you don’t already know, I guess I just wanted you to know you are not alone in this struggle. Much love and I’m thankful your beautiful daughter is alive, healthy and vibrant as you. (hugs)

  2. maren says:

    love you julie. you are an amazing mom and i learn from you every day. i do.

  3. Jody says:

    Oh my. I’m glad you’re OK. Sometimes I think about the narrow misses, and it takes my breath away.

    Hopefully you won’t come so close to another one for a good long time.

Leave a Reply

