Getting down to brass tacks

And another thing: All this week I’ve been all “oh, I’m so tired,” but “hey, don’t feel sorry for me, because I am strong and whatever and I will tell a joke and we can all pretend that I’m not as pathetic as I seem!”

Then I read another thought-provoking post by Robin’s cousin.  So I’m going to say what I’ve avoided saying all week.

I’m lonely.

I am not the super-modern woman who likes having her husband around but can do just fine without him.  I am a happily (well, not right this minute, but, you know, generally) married woman who depends way more on her husband than she’d like to admit.

Really, it is so embarrassing to actually think I’m going to publish this.  I can just hear all the single parents and military families saying, “You have no idea.”  You’re right, I don’t.  It’s completely selfish, but I hope I never do.

Blahblahblah independencecakes, etc.  I can do what needs to be done.  Or call my mommy and daddy.  And of course I love my kids.  But without Robin, I am really just killing time, and I’m lonely, and at the end of the day that is at the heart of all my other issues (this week).

It’s pretty stupid, posting this now when he’ll be home tomorrow.

Oh, well.  Stupid is as stupid does, right Forrest?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Jellyman and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Getting down to brass tacks

  1. At the end of the road, you will not look back on your life and think about the cars you had, the money you made, the clothes you wore, the jobs you held… none of that will cross your mind… You will think only about the love in your life, and not much else.

    In the end, it’s all that matters. It’s every thing that matters…

  2. April says:

    NOT STUPID . . . How wonderful that you love your husband so much that you miss him when you’re gone. Your uncle has it right–he’s a very wise man!

    How sad would it be if you were relieved when he left to go out of town????

    [This is the part where I write something funny so that my post doesn’t just sound really sappy. But I’m really not that clever . . .]

  3. missmunchy says:

    oh my gosh….I feel like half of me isn’t quite living when Bill is gone

    which is unfortunate for me b.c he seems to be gone all.the.time this last year

    like April says….be GLAD you love your husband so much! I am learning this isn’t how it always is

    and BE REAL. THANK YOU for being real. Seriously…it does EVERYONE good when we are real =)

Leave a Reply

