Mowed down – updated

I have just mowed the lawn, thus eliminating one of the few remaining things about which I could say “I just don’t know if I can do that while Robin’s at work, because what if the kids are sleeping and they wake up and I don’t hear them, or what if they’re awake and they, like, crawl into the blade and I am too stupid to turn the thing off in time?”

Of course, my mother-in-law was here, so it’s not a completely valid test, but we all still have all our limbs, and there wasn’t even a moment when she was forcibly restraining anyone, so I think we can call it a success.

So, yay!?  I don’t need Robin to mow the lawn anymore.  Oh, wait.

Well, on the plus side, I did it as randomly as I do everything else, so it kind of looks like I actually involved the children in the mowing process.  (Update: this was supposed to also say “so he probably won’t want me to do it anymore.”) And!  I invented a new game, where you drive through a neighborhood and guess who has a lawn service and who doesn’t.  It’s surprisingly easy, but then all the best games are, aren’t they?  And and! I composed this blog post in my head while I was mowing, so there’s a bonus for, you know, ALL OF HUMANITY.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Jellyman and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mowed down – updated

  1. Rina says:

    Some of my best thinking is when I’m mowing. Unfortunately we upgraded (???) to a zero turn mower and I am having to concentrate more than I have in the past. So far I ran into a stationary plow (it’s supposed to be a yard decoration [midwestern style] and took out a bush). In my defense, the bush looked pretty sad anyway and the yard was probably too wet to be mowing. I’m looking for a safer place to put all other yard decorations.

  2. LOL! Hey… forget rap… I’m going to write country songs…

    “I Can Mow My Own Yard So, I Don’t Really Need You Anymore”

    and

    “The Woman Mowed Over My Heart (And Just Kept Going).

    Those are the names of my first 2 big hits… I can feel it…

  3. Amy F says:

    I’m really glad people in my neighborhood are laid back about mowing. The guys across the street hired a service this year (they’re the only ones I’m aware of), but the place was looking worse than mine until the service started, so it’s not like they’re going for immaculate. I suspect they’re just out of town a lot. Both my next door neighbors let theirs get fairly long before bothering to cut. One has a new baby and one is recently single, so they’ve got decent excuses too. We’re planning to take out a lot of grass and plant perennials eventually this summer to cut down (ha ha!) on the mowing necessary. Right now we’re super-classy and have a a dozen bushes in pots sitting in the grass. We have a reel-mower (I did get it sharpened this year) because we never bothered getting the gas-powered one fixed when it died two years ago. I like that Leo can help me mow. Dan figured out a method so that even if we really let it go, he hacks the super-long stuff with the weed whacker, then goes through with the reel mower. I like my backyard where it’s too shady to grow much.

Leave a Reply

