#planningfail*

Dear Me, Circa Four Years Ago,

When you decided to have your babies in September, I wish you’d considered how hard it would be to plan and execute birthday parties at the beginning of the school year.  And, ok, I know you didn’t know that you’d be having twins or that they’d be 5 weeks early.  And I know that if you had the power to travel into the future, you’d totally squish me flat for suggesting that you should’ve remained in that pregnant-with-twins state for even one second longer than you did.

Fortunately for me, you don’t have that power, so I feel pretty comfortable blaming this all on you.

Love, Julie From The Future

PS They turn out pretty freaking awesome.  It was all worth it.

*Sappy “I can’t believe they’re four years old” post to come, closer to their birthday on Friday.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Orange and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #planningfail*

  1. Amy F says:

    Oh yes, my mom, a teacher, had 2 Sept babies. My bday party always had to be before she started workshops the last week in August and my sister’s party was usually at the very end of Sept or early Oct. Our bdays are 9/1 and 9/20. And I would have to bring bday snack to school on the second day, no matter what the date was. My favorite was 8th grade when friends made a huge deal out of my 1/2 birthday in March.

  2. Shelly Petermann says:

    I feel the same way about Camryn’s birthday being in September. I wish she was an April or May birthday. And the funny thing is, I blame my sister (I know, I’m crazy!) She got married in January and I was the Matron of honor. So, I didn’t want to be pregnant for her wedding, so we waited to start trying. If I had started trying sooner, we would have had her in the spring or summer and then she’d be going to Kindergarten next year instead of having to wait a year. I don’t know why it all matters to me. In the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t and future me would probably come back to tell me she actually will benefit being and older kindergartener. But you know… it’s fun to complain!

  3. April says:

    Our friends (both teachers) have three kids. Their birthdays are September 3, 6, 9.

    You’re awesome! I love reading your blog!

Leave a Reply

