Perspective

I was going to change my Facebook status today, and I forget now what I planned to say, but it had something to do with playing catch-up today after a “lazy” day yesterday.

Then, I laughed out loud.  Yesterday was, for a busy mom, a nice, relaxing day.  Robin was under the weather, so he stayed home from work.  However, he was not so sick that we had to tiptoe around all day.  The kids were in good moods, and everybody had school, so Robin and I even got a couple of hours to ourselves.  I managed to fit in a workout AND some time to read.

The reason I laughed is that there is a time in my life when none of the following would’ve fit into my definition of a “lazy” day:

1. Preparing breakfast for 5.

2. Supervising 3 kids under the age of 7 as they complete their morning chores, preferably in time for school.

3. Packing lunches and snacks in-between the supervisory tasks.

4. Cleaning up the kitchen (even though yesterday I had help from Robin, so I feel guilty counting this one).

5. Cooking dinner for 5.

6. Putting in a 9-hour evening shift.

I got up this morning, and read friends’ status updates about being up all night with sick kids, this-or-that update about their small businesses, things they are managing to do while at their day jobs, and on and on and on.

Seriously, my previous self wants to know how the heck we do all this.  Moms rock.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Facebook, Grape, Orange, Raisin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perspective

  1. Brennan Hannon says:

    I was JUST talking about this with a mom at work this morning, explaining to her that i think moms bring a special group of skills to the workplace once they’ve stayed at home with their young ones for a few years. I can just barely get myself up and out of the house in time for work and still keep houseplants alive, I can’t imagine doing it for a family! You’re a rockstar 🙂

Leave a Reply

