Thankful? Yes I am.

If I tried to make a list of all the blessings in my life, I fear I’d end up like an Academy Award winner who thanked the gaffers but forgot her husband or something.  Besides, I’m not that good at the grand gestures.  My life, frankly, is not that grand.  It is made up of a million – a billion – innumerable – tiny little moments that make joy well up right up to my eyeballs.

For example, this morning the girls were in our bedroom, and Ben came racing in to tell them, “Come look out the front window!”

They all raced away, only to pound back with the news that a nocturnal (they were very clear on this point) animal had left tracks on our sidewalk, and could Mom and Dad please come “investigate.”

Then Riya presented me with this:

What you see here is her hypothesis (“I think it’s a raccoon”), a drawing of the culprit, and a rendition of the tracks.

On closer examination, the footprints weren’t just two parallel lines, but also included a small circle behind the two lines.  Robin suggested cat, I said rabbit.  We looked up images of all those animals, and found this under rabbit (I WAS RIGHT I WAS RIGHT I WAS RIGHT):

So, as you can see, Riya amended her theory to account for the facts at hand.

How could I not be overwhelmed with gratitude for a life like this?

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Apple, Jellyman, Orange, Raisin and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thankful? Yes I am.

  1. melissa says:

    ok, first of all…HOW do your kids know the word nocturnal??

    *I* barely know it =) haha

    second, I couldn’t agree more……….all these little things welling up to my eye balls with thankfulness!

Leave a Reply

