Clarification

So, after discussing yesterday’s post with Robin, I realized I might not have made my point very clear.

The women with whom I went to happy hour do not have simple, easy lives – I have the utmost respect for them.  They are balancing careers, not just jobs, and kids, and I think that’s amazing.

No less amazing are people with larger families than mine.  There are plenty of days when I am overwhelmed with my three, even now that they are pretty self-sufficient in a lot of ways.  Hats off to you, too.

Heck, being a parent is hard no matter what your circumstances.  Cheers to all of us, right!?

It’s not at all that I got a glimpse of a life with a career, or spent 22 hours (8+ while he was asleep) caring for another child, and thought, “Huh.  I could rock that life.  No sweat!” or, “Geez, maybe I made the wrong choice four years ago.”  It’s more just that those little peeks at alternate paths didn’t feel as foreign to me as I expected.  I was surprised to see how much my perspective has changed since I actually made the decisions that have brought our family to this point.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

