Profile in Courage

My friend Tracie made this video with her daughter, Abi.  Abi is recovering from her 19th surgery, and is waiting to find out whether her 20th will need to be next week.  She’s 12.

Tracie and her husband have two daughters younger than Abi, one of whom (Matti) has Crohn’s disease.  The youngest, Kaydee, is healthy, but of course all three girls struggle to be “normal” kids as their family deals with the financial, emotional, and physical demands of chronic illness.

I don’t actually see Tracie in person much anymore; generally I find out what’s going on with her via Facebook or her Caring Bridge site. Through all of this, she and her family have been some of the most consistently faithful people I have ever met.  Each new blow might knock the wind out of them for a while – who could expect otherwise? – but Tracie says again and again and again that today is a new day, that God’s hand is in this somewhere, that she has no choice but to trust Him.

It puts me to shame.

This week, while Abi is in particularly bad shape and Tracie is even more stressed than “usual,” a local news channel aired the video they made.  In the usual way of the Internet, most of the comments were kind and supportive.  A few were absolutely awful, and incredibly hurtful to Abi and her mom.

There is little I can offer this brave family that would “help.”  I mean, how does one contrive to make something like this “easier?”  But I thought, perhaps, that the promise of some additional prayers, and maybe some kind comments, might give them all a little boost.

I can’t imagine this is necessary to say to any of my usual readers, but just in case, let me make it clear that this one entry where I will be monitoring comments very closely.  I’m not interested in a discussion of the merits of the video, just in supporting my friend.  Any comments toward that end, I will make sure Tracie sees.  Thank you!

 

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Profile in Courage

  1. Ginger says:

    Congratulations on a fantastic video and for WCCO airing your story. That was an eye-opener for me, and hopefully some stores will heed your message and make changes to make shopping easier for Abi.

Leave a Reply

