Lima Beans

This week’s RemembeRED prompt: write about your favorite fruit or vegetable.

Here is the problem with Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day, which is otherwise one of the best children’s books ever written: the lima beans.  How can you “hate limas,” Alexander?  How?

Lima beans are Easter food.  Easter only.  They’re part of that day’s required menu: ham, potatoes, black cherry salad, LIMA BEANS.  (Brief aside: When my brother and sister-in-law were coordinating their first shared holidays, he told her our family does the same thing every year.  “Oh,” she said, “So does mine.  We have Christmas Eve at so-and-so’s house, or sometimes at my grandma’s, and we usually eat turkey.”  “Sometimes?  Usually?” he replied.  “You don’t get it.  My family does The. Same. Thing. Every. Year.  It’s required.”)

So, the build-up to the lima beans is huge.  I have been waiting, since last Easter, for these beans.  I need the beans.

The best way is this: Scoop some lima beans onto your fork (the cream of mushroom sauce helps them stick together).  Make sure you’ve got some of the bacon topping, then stab a square of ham onto the bottom.

When you put it into your mouth, bliss.  The sweet and salt of the meat, the richness of the sauce, the crunch of the bacon.  Best. Vegetable. Ever.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lima Beans

  1. Grandma Jackie says:

    I like lima beans. That said your family lima bean recipe is bare none, the best I have ever eaten. Now you have me salivating.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I’ve never eaten lima beans prepared that way. We buy the dry ones and I cook them up by letting them simmer on the stove all day. But I like the green ones too.

  3. Tracie says:

    I do not understand the lima bean love (my mom does, though, they are her favorite). Never have…..but that just means that if I came to your house for holidays, you could have a bigger portion, right?

  4. Erica Hicks says:

    Everything is better with bacon!

  5. Galit Breen says:

    This was fantastic for so many reasons!

    You wove a lot within very few words, it was funny, you referenced Alexander and you’ve left me with a strange craving for lima beans.

    And it’s *gasp* not even Easter! 🙂

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

