What do I want?

Every year, as the kids get a little more independent, this question becomes a little more prominent.  Our life becomes less about what we need, which ought to be a welcome change.

Need is so nice and straightforward.  Fulfill a need, then move on.  But what do I want?

I want things I can’t have right now, things that I am working toward, but that will take a long time.

I want things for which I am not willing to pay the price, in time or money or other opportunities.

I want things that conflict with other things I want, and I can’t decide between them.

I want this whole process of living to be simpler.

I want to sit on my couch and watch Netflix, and that one I can actually achieve.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

