How I feel about starting my new job

I am so tired of working nights, I just want to sleep omigosh that is probably the most selfish thing I have ever heard what will we do on snow days or if the kids are sick oh get over it people handle that kind of thing all the time yeah but shouldn’t I have waited until at least the end of the school year maybe but the opportunity came up now and what if there isn’t another one like this besides won’t it be nice to have a job that challenges me sure but how am I going to get all the housework and shopping and laundry done whatever I wasn’t doing such a good job of that anyway right and maybe I will lose some of this weight I’ve gained from eating junk in the middle of the night to stay awake or maybe I will eat soba noodles at Zen Box every day and gain 50 pounds but we will be able to pay off some debts will the kids care about the finances or will they just be disappointed about the stuff I am missing ok but at least now I will be more awake and in control for the times we do share instead of being a walking zombie all the time.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Parenting, Work and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How I feel about starting my new job

  1. Amy F says:

    Hugs to you! It will all be okay 🙂

  2. LOL, and a great big hug. You will be awesome in every respect! Awesome.

  3. Becki says:

    If it makes you feel any better, I went back to work almost two years ago with many of the same worries. My kids were so proud of me, it turned out. It made me realize what a slacker they must have thought I was before. They probably had whispered conferences when I was out of the room: “What are we going to do with her? She doesn’t seem to have any goals…” “I don’t know, but I’m not going to be financing her computer and coffee addiction…”

    Don’t know what sort of flexibility you have around sick days. As for snow days, find a trustworthy neighborhood teen, give her some regular sitting gigs, and ask if she’d be willing to be your “go to” person for snow days. After all, if your kids have a snow day, she will, too.

  4. Jody says:

    Sleep is such a big thing. I am going to school now in the fall and feeling panicky about making THAT work, so I won’t downplay the stress of the change, but wow, I would choose anything that helped me get sleep. Congrats on the new job!

  5. Lydia says:

    Everytime I have to make a big decision, I’m faced with feelings similar to this. I can drive myself crazy with the what ifs, but I think we all know what is best for ourselves in the end. Wishing you lots of good luck in your new ventures. And sleep! Not selfish at all to want that.

Leave a Reply

