Judge Julie

I judge people I don’t know.  I’ll give myself credit where I can: I don’t judge people I DO know, and when I judge strangers it’s all in my head – I don’t SAY anything.  Nevertheless, I am working on it because the whole thing is all tied up in my self-esteem and the energy with which I approach the world and … well, there is room for improvement.

So when I catch myself at it, these days, I give myself a little talking-to and try to change my perspective.

Sometimes it doesn’t work.  I mean, some people are just crying out to be judged.  To wit:

1) If you have a job that requires you to wear scrubs, you should know better than to smoke*.  Especially around kids.  At least have the grace to act ashamed of yourself.

*Everybody should know better, but especially you.  Consider yourself judged.

2) If you are carrying on a conversation in the break room, which is not really a room, just an open space within 10 feet of where dozens of people are working, and you are talking really loudly about how “This is the WORST day of my life,” and the reason it’s the worst day of your life is because you left your cell phone in your car, then consider yourself judged.

And I don’t feel guilty about it almost at all.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Judge Julie

  1. Jessica Szczerba says:

    Yes, and, yes

  2. manneredgold says:

    Yeeeeees! (and, if I may add to your list, If You Are On Any Form Of Reality Television. I watch you, I am entertained by you, but mostly I feel superior because I don’t know you and yet have determined I am so much more sane/ intellegent/ mature/ able to speak without the need for bleep-outs.)

Leave a Reply

