That’s right, you heard me, Universe

When we were running behind, I cajoled, urged, pushed, and pulled until we made it out the door.

When I realized I was never going to make it in time for the Good bus, I shrugged and figured I’d catch the next one.

When Ben sobbed and clung to me at day care, I waved goodbye to the Not So Good bus and gave him an extra hug or five. Then I pried myself loose and went and cried in the car on the way to the Now I’m Just Late bus.

When I realized I’d forgotten my phone, and almost missed the Now I’m Just Late bus looking for it, I swore a little lot.

When I turned my ankle on a piece of uneven sidewalk, I couldn’t help but laugh, because Hey, Universe, *&%$ you, too.

I think today’s the day I check out that skyway liquor store.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to That’s right, you heard me, Universe

  1. manneredgold says:

    I mean, that liquor store is located there for a *reason*. They’re probably just waiting for you, wondering what took so long/ why your ankles have yet to give out.

Leave a Reply

