WWID (What Would the Internet Do)?

1) Would you invite someone (namely, me) to a baby shower if you hadn’t seen or spoken to them (or, you know, me) in 7 years?

(75% sure the last time I saw this friend was when she and her husband visited us at our old house when Riya was a newborn.  I specifically remember making sure the vase she gave me as a wedding gift was displayed when she came over.  I don’t have it any more.

90% sure she and her husband have never been to our current house, which we bought when Riya was 4-5 months old.

99.9% sure they have never met Ben and Karina.)

2) If you were me, and you received such an invitation, would you accept?

(As it happens, I won’t can’t rearrange my schedule for the day in question, and I declined.  But I am glad for her, and curious what she’s been up to, so I asked her mom – the hostess for the shower – if she would be willing to give me my friend’s number, or give my number to her.  Her mom replied to my email and copied my friend “so she can email or call you.”)

3) Having received such an email from your mother, with a request from a friend whom you presumably wanted to invite to your baby shower, would you respond to said friend’s request to catch up in some other way?

(Because she hasn’t.  In case that was somehow unclear.)

4) And finally, if you were once again me, would you continue to wait to hear from the expectant mom? Email again, thinking perhaps she’s waiting for you – even though her mom’s email seemed to put the ball in her court? Not email again, because maybe she never really wanted to invite you in the first place and is now in an embarrassing situation? Drop the whole thing, because WTF?

(I have decided, after putting a minimal amount of thought into it, to just drop it and to be glad if she ever does get back in touch again.  But I really do want to know – what would you do?)

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to WWID (What Would the Internet Do)?

  1. lastboomerstanding says:

    It sounds as if you put it out there that you would be interested in reconnecting on a another day that works for both of you in some other way. Searching your heart, would you say this friendship is still strongly important to you? If so, maybe send a gift and apologize for not being able to make it. If not, feel no shame because sometimes people grow apart in different directions, without intention and without judgement, and there is no fault to assign… it just is. IMHO, you did the right thing.

Leave a Reply

