I’m much too young to feel this damn old*

About 70% of what I am supposed to accomplish in a day, I remember to do all on my own.  (In this category: Brush Teeth. Eat. – not necessarily in that order – Feed Children.  Put Car In Park Before Exiting.  That kind of thing.)

An additional 20-25%, I remember through a ridiculous and redundant system of notes-to-self, emails-to-self, paper calendars, online calendars, asking my husband to remind me, and realizing too late that I have forgotten such-and-such and then frantically scrambling to make up for it.  (In this category: Tasks At Work, Paying For Stuff, Running Errands, Making Sure The Kids Have Their Swimsuits For Swimming Day At School, etc.  Also, there is no guarantee that items from the first category will not end up on this list.)

The final 5-10%, if I did that math correctly (and I might not have, because hi, I forget things – that is the point of this story), I sincerely, truly, honestly, really apologize for.  (In this group: I Have No Idea; I Have Forgotten, And It Would Be Much Kinder To Just Let Me Go On This Way So I Don’t Have To Feel Guilty, ThankYouVeryMuch.

*Yes, I just quoted Garth Brooks lyrics, and yes, I had to look them up.  Shut it.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m much too young to feel this damn old*

  1. manneredgold says:

    That final 5-10% is a tab out of my heavily post-it noted (awesome grammar, I have) brain. But my math would be more like 50-60%. With all other percentages staying the same (awesome math skills, I have). Pay no mind to the fact that I’m a bookkeeper. The numbers don’t lie.

  2. Pingback: A post that’s as long as the trip itself | Fruit Salad

Leave a Reply

