To the moon

For Friday you have 500 words to write a piece, fiction or non-fiction, which includes the phrase “to the moon.”

Negotiations, which lasted several minutes, are finally over, and the roles have all been assigned.  There was some debate about the realism of having two satellites, but all parties eventually agreed that it would be all right to sacrifice a little reality in the interest of moving ahead.

The one in the middle spins slowly on her own axis while the other two rotate and revolve around her.  The heavenly bodies leave their orbits and bump into one another.  They trade roles and start the twirling dance again.  One reaches out and grabs my hand.

Our solar system expands and contracts, the planets chasing each other through the vast void of space that is our backyard.  Giggles and shouts echo around us; no black holes here in which to lose them.

We are all dizzy, we cannot stay upright any more.  As we collapse, I lean over and give a hug and a kiss to the Earth, to the moon, and to the other moon.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Parenting, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to To the moon

  1. lindy smith says:

    Really cute. Your take on this prompt was so unique. Thanks for this.

  2. Sweet use of the prompt. I like the idea of a family as a universe unto itself.

  3. This is a fun take on the prompt! I like the picture of the kids giggling and laughing in their roles, learning a little and having a lot of fun, too.

  4. Christine says:

    This is precious. I love the juxtaposition of the serious tone with the silliness that lies beneath. This: “Our solar system expands and contracts, the planets chasing each other through the vast void of space that is our backyard….” is a *fantastic* line. I wish I’d thought of this myself. (I know what game I’m going to suggest to my little ones when I get home tonight!)

  5. Waterfall says:

    Cute idea for a game.

  6. Wisper says:

    I can picture you guys playing this! Great take on the prompt as well. Well written, as usual, and I always love seeing what you have to say with each post!

Leave a Reply

