Scenes from Corporate America

1 (a): I have reported a technology problem to my friendly local technology team, who are flummoxed by said problem. They believe I should submit it instead to the larger enterprise tech team, and since the system we use for that is confusing and hard to use (IRONIC!), they offered to fill out a ticket for me.

A few days later, I got an email from somebody saying that *I* had filled out the ticket incorrectly, but that he would fix it.  Now, it would accomplish nothing for me to point out to him that I didn’t create the ticket – it wouldn’t fix my problem faster.  And the guy who did fill it out will probably never need to do another one just like this, so he won’t care.  But, dangit, I WANT EVERYONE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT I DID NOT MAKE A MISTAKE.  This time.

1 (b): Having oh-so-generously fixed my the mistake, the tech guy called me yesterday because he was ready to try to fix my problem.  I described to him what was happening, after which… silence.  I said, “that’s weird, huh?”  He tried hard not to imply that I was Krazy.  He really did.

So I showed him the file that caused the error.  Nothing wrong with the file.  I showed him what I was doing right before the error occurred.  Nothing wrong there.  I closed the file, which is when the problem happened last time.  And, BOOM.  PROBLEM.

“Huh,” he said.  “That’s weird.”

THANK YOU.

2: I receive an email asking for File 1 and File 2, today please if possible.  I am supposed to leave in about 30 minutes, and I have about 30 minutes of work left to do, so this is not great timing.  Also, these files are hard-copy and the requester wants an electronic file.  I will need to scan them, but I haven’t yet been set up for our new scanner.

So, I instant-message my friend on our floor who knows about these things, and he drops what he’s doing to show me how to set up the scanner and how to run it.  All told, the two of us spend 20 or so minutes (please note TIME) getting these files scanned.  I respond to the original email to say that they are ready.  Look at me go!  What great service!

Then, something farther down the chain of emails attached to the original catches my eye.  Wait, I have sent files 1 and 2, but they are talking about 3 and 4.  Why did she ask me for 1 and 2?  I email her again, pointing out the discrepancy. “Yes,” she responds, “they wanted 3 and 4.  But don’t worry, it can be done tomorrow.”

Ok, ok, first of all, IT CAN BE DONE TOMORROW?  That is not what you said the first time.

And, ha ha ha, second of all, once again, I am going to need you to acknowledge that this was not my mistake.  I will need you to say, “Oh, dear.  I asked you for the wrong thing, and it is only due to your excellent powers of observation that MY error was noticed.  Thank you so much.”

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scenes from Corporate America

  1. Becki says:

    I am in sympathy with you, and I proclaim loudly to the Internet and the denizens of my kitchen that you are utterly without blame in this matter.

  2. manneredgold says:

    I would like to point out just how awesome the tags are for this post. *awesome*

Leave a Reply

