Better. Right, better.

Ben and Karina start Kindergarten tomorrow, and in the immortal words of Forrest Gump, “that’s all I have to say about that.”

Well, except that I am going to say more about that.

In one of those weird circle-of-life kinds of things, we saw a family today while we were out to lunch: a mom, a dad, a little girl about two years old, and infant twins.  The mom filled bottles and tried to keep the toddler busy while the dad juggled all their trays.  Then the parents ate one-handed, with a baby in the other.  If they ate at all, that is – the babies were hungry, so they might not have had the chance.

I remember those days.

“It gets better,” we told them as we left.

“When?” he asked.  “When does it get better?”

(I remember that, too.  There’s no way to believe the person telling you it’s better.  Sure, it’s better for them.  Whoop-dee-do.)

“A little every day,” I told him.

And myself, because if I hadn’t met them today, I would’ve spent even more time than I already have wishing for my babies back instead of rejoicing over who they’ve become.

My new improved attitude of rejoicing, however, does not mean that I won’t be crying all the way to work tomorrow.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Better. Right, better.

  1. Jenni says:

    My firstborn is going in to 6th grade tomorrow, Katelyn into 4th, Ben in to 1st and Lillian will hopefully be starting preschool soon (she’s on the waiting list). I TOTALLY understand…. 🙂 hug.

  2. Arwen says:

    “When? When does it get better?”

    YES. I’ve asked this question, desperately, of every twin parent I’ve met who says it gets better. (Some of them claim it never gets easier, which I flat-out refuse to believe, because it is exponentially easier at 15mos than it was at the beginning, and I know there are regressions but I can’t imagine the trend reverses completely. Plus eventually they go off to college.)

    This post was exactly what I needed to read today, really, because my non-sleeping 15-month-old twins are sucking the life out of me right now. I need to remember that someday I’ll wish I could go back and hold their baby-ish selves again. (I take lots of video.)

    Thinking of you tomorrow!

  3. Becki says:

    I still remember being told by a parent, when my first child was a few weeks old, “If you haven’t killed anyone by the time he’s eight weeks old, you’re doing great.” The early days are so, so hard, even when you only have one at a time. But those days are precious, too, so you are to be forgiven for any tears you shed missing your babies.

Leave a Reply

