Things I might be trying to tell you when I click the “like” button on Facebook

“I saw what you wrote, and I want to acknowledge that you wrote it, but I have nothing clever or important to add.”

“I disagree with you, but this is obviously important to you and I’m impressed by your enthusiasm.”

“This is wonderful!  I love it so much!  It is hilarious, sweet, inspiring, and/or I am so happy for you!”

“You have posted a link to something I should probably watch or read to improve my mind, but I am reading this on my phone and I’m close to my data limit.  There is no way I will ever remember to come back to this later, but thank you for trying.”

“My finger slipped.”

“You liked something of mine and I want to return the favor.”

“I don’t really get the joke, but a lot of other people liked it, and I don’t want to be left out.”

“You don’t post often enough, and I want to encourage you to write more.”

“I like this.”

… or some combination thereof.  They really should add more buttons.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things I might be trying to tell you when I click the “like” button on Facebook

  1. manneredgold says:

    (I don’t mean my “Like” as being smart-assy. I actually like this, ie. “This is wonderful! I love it so much! It is hilarious, sweet, inspiring, and/or I am so happy for you!”)

    (I would like to use the word “smart-assy” more often. Not necessarily to you. It’s more of a global desire.)

Leave a Reply

