Srsly.

A couple of things before we begin.  1) This is not about Sandy Hook.  I tried to write about it, honest to God I did, but I don’t think it was going to do anybody any real good for me to publish it.  If you’re not ready to move on yet – well, me either, really, so I get it.  Stop reading here, and forgive me, please.  2) Almost two months since my last post.  Yup.  OK.

Day 1 of a Secret Santa exchange.  Another participant comes to me, the gift she received clutched in her hand.

“Do you know who gave me this?”

“Um, no.  It’s supposed to be secret, right?”

“Well, look at it!  Everybody else got these nice wrapped gifts, and mine is in this little tin!  And look inside it – all I got was [details omitted to prevent positive identification – rest assured the gift was appropriate to a 4-day exchange where the total budget was $10-15].”

“Maybe you should wait and see what you are getting on the other days.”

“No!  I am offended!  This is rude.” [Jeepers, did it honestly never occur to her that it might have been from me (it wasn’t)?  Or did she think it was, and this was her way of letting me know I’d better step it up?]

“I think you are taking this the wrong way.  I’m sure whoever gave it to you thought it was a cute little tin, and that’s why they didn’t wrap it.  And I’m sure they thought you would like the gift.”

“That’s your opinion?”

“That is my opinion.”

“Ok…”

I wish I were making this up.  Am I completely off my rocker here?  In my universe, you get a gift, you say thank you, you move on.  You don’t like it?  Okey-dokey, regift it.  Return it.  The giver never needs to know.  Criminey.

Oh, and Merry Christmas.

About Grape

I've got the world's best kids and husband. Great house, steady job. I'm living the American dream. The trick is to appreciate it. I'm working on that part.
This entry was posted in Grape, Work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Srsly.

  1. Jen says:

    Love this. Way to stand up for gracious, grown-up behavior!

Leave a Reply

